Journal Information


Published biannually, the IJSDL is a refereed, electronic journal founded to disseminate scholarly papers that document research, theory, or innovative or exemplary practice in self-directed learning


Journal Guidelines: For those preparing manuscripts for the new International Journal of Self-Directed Learning, to obtain the Manuscript Submission Guidelines - click here. It is advised that you use these guidelines in preparing Symposium papers as well if you are planning to submit for publication.



Editorial Board



Michael K. Ponton, Texas A&M University - Commerce



Janet F. Piskurich, Paul L. Foster Medical School, Texas Tech



Lucy Madsen Guglielmino, Florida Atlantic University (Emeritus)

Huey B. Long, University of Oklahoma (Emeritus)



Naomi R. Boyer, Education Design Lab

Ralph G. Brockett, University of Tennessee (Emeritus)

Valerie C. Bryan, Florida Atlantic University

Robert J. Bulik, University of Texas Academy of Health Science Education (Emeritus)

Philippe Carré, Université Paris Ouest Nanterre La Défense, France

Robert C. Donaghy, Bradley County Schools (Retired)

Brian W. Findley, Palm Beach State College

Lucy Madsen Guglielmino, Florida Atlantic University (Emeritus)

Joan H. Hanor, California State University San Marcos (Emeritus)

Roger Hiemstra, Syracuse University (Emeritus)

Waynne B. James, University of South Florida

Carol E. Kasworm, North Carolina State University (Emeritus)

William J. Kops, University of Manitoba, Canada

Theresa N. Liddell, Education Consultant (Retired)

Patricia A. Maher, University of South Florida (Retired)

Kelly E. McCarthy, University of South Florida

Elsa Mentz, North-West University, South Africa

Sharan B. Merriam, University of Georgia (Emeritus)

Magdalena Mo Ching Mok, The Education University of Hong Kong

Albertina L. Oliveira, University of Coimbra, Portugal

EunMi Park, Charles Drew University

Shelley Payne, Otterbein University

Thomas G. Reio, Jr., Florida International University

Karen Wilson Scott, Idaho State University

Susan Stockdale, Kennesaw State University (Retired)

Peter L. Zsiga, Florida Atlantic University

© Copyright 2020  ISSDL - All rights reserved.   For copyright inquiries please contact

  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon